Health and Social Care

Health and Social Care

In studying Health and Social Care you will learn about the systems, theories, and practices in place that provide help to people in need, whether they have physical disabilities, learning disabilities, or mental health problems.

Our Approach

The course consists of 13 units: 8 are mandatory units and 5 are optional.

The mandatory units include 4 examination units:

  • Unit 1 Human Lifespan Development
  • Unit 2 Working in Health and Social Care
  • Unit 3 Anatomy and Physiology
  • Unit 4 Research in Health and Social Care

The remaining 4 mandatory units are internally assessed:

  • Unit 5 Meeting Individual Care and Support
  • Unit 6 Work experience in the Health and Social Care
  • Unit 7 Principles of safe practice in Health and Social Care.
  • Unit 8 Promoting Public Health

The BTEC Level 3 course is intended for learners who want to progress in this area.  There are 3 routes available after this course:

  • Apprenticeship in an area of HSC (Level 3 or 4)
  • Progression to University if a degree is required for a chosen job role, such as Nursing, Midwifery, Paramedic, Social Worker etc)
  • Straight into employment.


From September 2023, we will also be offering the BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate, which you can study with two other A Levels.

Course Level

BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma. Equivalent to 3 A-Levels


BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate. Equivalent to 1 A Level

Entry Requirements

The Academy’s general entry criteria of a minimum of five 4s (including a 4 in English Language) at GCSE apply to study Health and Social Care at Chapeltown Academy. A grade 5 in a Science subject and a H&S Level Distinction is also needed.

Additional Course Information

Contact the course leaders:

Rebecca Wright

Nicola Edwards

and visit the Pearson course page here.

Apply for This Course

Use our online application form available here.